Autumn Already

asl_helloWow, this school year is already flying by.

We are understaffed in the interpreter department. If you are in the Jacksonville, FL area and you are looking to join DCPS, let me know. I’ll get you in touch with the right person.

Other than that, the year is going well. The cadets are settling into their routines. Our school is improving each year. We now have a school grade of C school versus the Ds we’ve had the three years prior. I’m really seeing a difference this year.

I have added a Sign Word GIF gallery. They are all me. I did post them to Twitter and Google Plus in the past. I am not an ASL teacher. It is best to learn from Deaf or from an ASL teacher but it’s out there…and now it’s here.

Yesterday, I attended a workshop in Orlando on The Dos, Don’ts and Maybes of Educational Interpreting presented by Jodi Raffoul. It was amazing. I wish I could keep her in my pocket and pick her brain when I need too. One of the things we discussed was tools to show how our students hear. One of them was a video of The Flintstones talking and it shows you how someone with a hearing loss would hear the cartoon. You can find that video here. There are tons of tools that she talked about and will be sending us in an email soon. I will definitely be posting them to share. If you get the chance, take a workshop that Jodi Raffoul puts on. She is funny and full of knowledge.

Leave a comment