RID Announces Moratorium on Credentialing

What does this mean?  All certificates, even Ed:K-12 which the testing, both written and performance, are not done via RID (Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf)  for will be part of this moratorium until things can be “figured out”.  For those of us who are working towards National Certification, this confused me.  How can I get certified if governing body of interpreters isn’t giving out certifications.

The good news for me is that because I am an Educational Interpreter I choose to be tested via the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA).  It won’t be until December until I find out my results and I still have to take the written portion of the test.  So while I’m not totally freaked out about this, it still makes me weary as an interpreter to see our profession in such flux.  Change is good..right?

For more information on RID’s decision, click HERE.

Leave a comment